Saturday, July 15, 2017

Etiology of bird flu

Avian influenza, also known as avian flu, bird flu, or fowl plague, is an animal disease of viral etiology that ranges from a mild or even asymptomatic infection to an acute, rapidly fatal disease of chickens, turkeys, guinea fowls, and other domestic poultry, as well as wild birds, migratory waterfowl and other avian species.

These viruses are routinely transmitted from this wild bird reservoir to poultry in many areas all over the world. The virus is spread by aerosolization of respiratory secretions, fecal material and by ingestion of infected waterfowl and poultry.
Human to human transmission involved with directly transmitted by droplet inhaled from an infected person’s sneezing or coughing or by indirect contact with contaminated objects, such as a drinking glass.

All known influenza A subtypes exist in the aquatic bird reservoir; due to this fact, influenza is reckoned as not an eradicable disease. Symptoms of flu are the sudden onset of chills and a fever 38° to 40° C, headaches, muscle aches, a non productive cough, and rhinitis.
Etiology of bird flu
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The Most Popular Posts